Free event Family friendly
Now - Sat 11 Sep 2021
10:00 - 14:30
St Giles Church
A FREE drop in with guides highlighting areas of interest, military parts, St Oswald Chapel, tower, ringing chamber, and café refreshments. A new video on stained glass windows is also being released by the church.
There has been a church building on the site since at least the 12th Century, when a chapel-of-ease, St Mary's in the market square, was built by the Norman de Lacy family. The original building was enlarged over the centuries and the name changed to St Giles.
St Giles is a dominant feature Of Pontefract's Market Place and is sometimes referred to as 'The Church at the Heart of the Town'. The church is a Grade II* listed building, which became the parish church in 1789 (taking over from All Saints) and is situated within the Market Place Conservation Area; there is no churchyard attached to the church.
30 minutes is suggested to discover the heritage of the church, then you can relax with refreshments in the café.
The ground floor main body of the church has full wheelchair access and there is a lift to the mezzanine, however the ringing chamber in the bell tower does not have wheelchair access.