Friarwood Valley Gardens are an oasis of calm in the bustling streets of Pontefract town centre. The gardenss were laid out as a public park in the mid-20th century in the town centre of Pontefract, on a site originally associated with the town’s medieval monastery.

There was a friary on the site of the present gardens until the dissolution of the monasteries in the mid-16th century. After this the site was used as a cemetery until orchards were planted in the 18th century. The area was laid out as private gardens towards the end of the 19th century. The area was developed as a public space in 1950 at the time that an adjacent road was widened.

Take a peaceful stroll through the rose garden and spot the vibrant colours. Little visitors will love running riot in the playground and families can pack the picnic blanket and enjoy time together on one of the picnic benches dotted around the park.

Make sure you visit in the springtime – the blossom trees are a stunning part of the gardens.

Look out for special events held at Friarwood Valley Gardens throughout the year, including being part of Pontefract Liquorice Festival, hosting a Yorkshire Day extravaganza,being part of the annual Pontefract Lantern Festival and of course being the location for Friarwood Festival!

    Access facilities

  • Wheelchair Accessible

Venue Details

Find us at

Mayor's Walk, Pontefract, WF8 2RR

Venue Facilities

  • Picnic Area
  • Playground