Join the Wakefield Concert Society as they celebrate their 60th anniversary with a performance by Yuanfan Yang and the Opera North Orchestra at Wakefield Cathedral.

Born in Edinburgh, pianist and composer Yuanfan Yang is a First Class Graduate of both the Royal Academy of Music, and the Royal College of Music in London.

The Orchestra of Opera North holds a unique place amongst British orchestras. Universally praised by audiences and critics alike, the orchestra is the only ensemble in the country to have a year-round dual role in the opera house and concert hall.

Pianist: Yuanfan Yang, with members of the Opera North Orchestra

Leader: Rachel Mosley

Conductor: Stephen Threlfall


Yuanfan Yang: Sonata Duo de Charme for Violin and Cello

​Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 in Dm K466


Chopin: Nocturne in Eb Opus 9 No. 2

Liszt: La Campanella

Debussy: Reflets dans l’Eau

Yuanfan Yang: Piano Concerto No. 4 “Jing River”

“…[Yuanfan’s compositions] are vividly programmatic, relating to waves, the sinking sun and a haunted bell, and ranging in mood from splashy virtuosity to a soulful poignancy impressive in one so young.” – Fiona Maddocks, The Guardian

This event was funded by Wakefield Council Culture Grants as part of Our Year – Wakefield District 2024.

Venue opening hours

Monday : 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Tuesday : 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wednesday : 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thursday : 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Friday : 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Saturday : 9:30 am - 4:00 pm

Sunday : 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

    Access facilities

  • Accessible Toilet

Venue Details

Find us at

Northgate, Wakefield, WF1 1HG